Funeral arrangements for Reitz’s Logan Brown

As many of you have heard by now, sadly, Reitz’s Logan Brown was fatally injured in a head-on collision Saturday night.

The showing for Logan will be Thursday from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m. at ONE LIFE WEST Church. The funeral will begin at 7pm.

Our thoughts and prayers go out to Brown’s family and the other individuals injured in the car wreck.

Nice article on the late Marlon Flemming

The Evansville Courier & Press has a nice article on Marlon Flemming, who recently passed away.

Flemming, 58, was an all-state football player for the Panthers in 1974 and was a member of the Reitz Football Hall of Fame Class of 2008.

Flemming remembered for his strength, disposition

Nelson, Wessel, Townsend added to Reitz Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014

After discussions with the Reitz Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee and analyzing the vote of the Reitz Nation, three legendary Panther figures have been inducted into the Reitz Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

Edward Wessel, Sr., Bob Nelson and David Townsend, Jr. received more votes than anyone else in their era (50+ years ago, 24-49 years ago and 10-24 years ago, respectively).

50+ years ago
Edward M. Wessel, Sr. was an all-state tackle in 1947 at Reitz. He went on to be a four-year football starter at Evansville College and was named to the All-Ohio Valley Conference team in 1951.

After playing, he went on to coach at Oblong, Ill., then was an assistant at Bosse (1953-56) and North (1957-74) before accepting the head coaching position for the Huskies (1976-80).

He is a member of the Coaching Legends of Southern Indiana, a past president of both the Evansville Downtown Quarterback Club and Evansville Coaches Association. He is a member of the North High School Hall of Fame, Indiana Football Hall of Fame and now the Reitz Football Hall of Fame.

24-49 years ago
Bob Nelson was the all-state quarterback who led the Panthers to the 1971 state championship, earning himself a scholarship at Indiana University.

10-24 years ago
David Townsend Jr. was an all-state linebacker and defensive captain for the Panthers in 1992, the first Reitz team to advance to semi-state. He led the team in tackles in 1991 & 1992 and was the first linebacker to return an interception for a touchdown since Don Hansen in 1961.

Special thanks
FYI – Full profiles for the Class of 2014 will be added to the Hall of Fame page in the coming days. Thanks to the selection committee members (Mike Whicker, Larry Ellington and Jon Carl) for their input, and special thanks to everyone in the Reitz Nation who voted and made their voice heard.

Clark, Fetscher voted Reis Tire Players of the Year, Higgins selected overall MVP

reis-potgThe Reitz Nation has spoken! The readers of have selected Tristen Clark and Trevor Fetscher as the Reis Tire Offensive & Defensive Players of the Year!

Clark won with 345 votes (51%), while Fetscher earned 331 votes for 43%.

Additionally, while Malik Higgins finished second in the offensive player of the year vote, the overall success he had on offense and defense throughout the season earned him the honor of’s Most Valuable Player of 2014.

Offensive                         Defensive
345 - Tristen Clark               331 - Trevor Fetscher
210 - Malik Higgins               199 - Alex Welcher
 30 - AJ Dixon                     79 - Will Brown
 29 - Evan Deig                    43 - Andrew Shaw
 25 - Will Brown                   25 - Ethan Robison
 19 - Drew Reuter                  17 - Brock Ashworth
 15 - A.J. Ware                    17 - Caleb Crowe
  4 - Jackson Barnes               16 - Isaac Flowers
  4 - Nate Hansen                  12 - Zach Cook
  1 - Kerrion Ringo                12 - Tanner Duran
                                    9 - Joey Diekman
                                    9 - Aaron Euler
                                    8 - Elijah Dunham

Congratulations to these fine young men and the entire Reitz Football team!

2014 Offensive Players of the Game
Week 1: Malik Higgins
Week 2: Evan Deig
Week 3: Malik Higgins
Week 4: Evan Deig
Week 5: Malik Higgins
Week 6: Nate Hansen
Week 7: Jackson Barnes
Week 8: AJ Dixon & Malik Higgins
Week 9: Malik Higgins
Sectional First Round: Evan Deig
Sectional Second Round: Malik Higgins
Sectional Championship: Drew Reuter
Regional Championship: Tristen Clark

2014 Defensive Players of the Game
Week 1: Trevor Fetscher
Week 2: Trevor Fetscher
Week 3: Aaron Euler
Week 4: Entire defense
Week 5: Aaron Euler
Week 6: Ethan Robison
Week 7: Trevor Fetscher
Week 8: Ethan Robison
Week 9: Brock Ashworth
Sectional First Round: Caleb Crowe
Sectional Second Round: Trevor Fetscher
Sectional Championship: Andrew Shaw
Regional Championship: Zach Cook

Thank you to Reis Tire for their support of the our weekly Player of the Game fan vote! Players of the Game/Year Archive


Morrow receives Academic All-Star Award

Reitz High School’s Dalton Morrow received the 2014 Indiana Academic All-Star Award, it was announced recently. He was one of 28 football players across the state that was recognized by the Indianapolis Colts, Indiana High School Athletic Association and Indiana Football Coaches Association.

Links of interest

BOYS BASKETBALL: Reitz hosts Mater Dei tonight

bb_netThe West Side War will spill into Reitz Gym tonight as the No. 7 Panthers (2-0) host Mater Dei (1-1) in boys basketball action.

This will be the conference opener for the Wildcats while Reitz is 1-0.

Tipoff will be approximately 7 p.m. after the conclusion of the JV game.



Three Panthers named IFCA All-State

Three Panthers were included on the 2014 Indiana Football Coaches Association All-State team. Trevor Fetscher (defensive line), Malik Higgins (running back) and Josh Springer (punter) were honored by the IFCA.

Congratulations to these outstanding athletes and the entire Reitz Football team!

Links of interest

Higgins named player of the year, six more Panthers named to Courier & Press All-Metro team

Seven Panthers were included on the 2014 Courier & Press All-Metro team, which was announced in Sunday’s paper.

Evan Deig (quarterback), Malik Higgins (runningback), Kerrion Ringo (wide receiver) and A.J. Ware (offensive line) were named to the offensive team while Will Brown (linebacker), Trevor Fetscher (defensive line) and Isaac Flowers (defensive back) were honored on defense.

Additionally, Higgins was also selected the Player of the Year. He is the fifth Reitz player to win the award since 1987 (the others were Andre Vaughn in 1992, Ricky Crider in 2005, Paul McIntosh in 2007 and Matt McIntosh, who won in 2009 and 2010).

Congratulations to these seven young men and the entire 2014 Reitz Football Panthers!

Links of interest

Two Panthers named first team AP All-State, six more honorable mention

Eight Panthers were included on the 2014 AP All-State team, with two making the first team and six more receiving honorable mention.

Included on the first team were Malik Higgins at wide receiver and Josh Springer at punter.

Receiving honorable mention were Will Brown (linebacker), Evan Deig (quarterback), Trevor Fetscher (defensive line), Isaac Flowers (defensive back), Kerrion Ringo (wide receiver) and A.J. Ware (offensive line).

Congratulations to these outstanding athletes and the entire Reitz Football team!

Links of interest

2014 Reitz Football Banquet set for Dec. 14

The annual Reitz Football banquet will be held on Sunday, Dec. 14 at 4 p.m. in the Reitz High School Cafeteria.

Coach Hape wanted everyone to know that ALL are invited!

Download the Reitz Football Banquet RSVP form for more information and spread the word!


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,366 other followers

%d bloggers like this: